Don’t fall for the re-hashed Facebook scam

A lot of people are sharing this on their Facebook status

“Deadline tomorrow !!! Everything you’ve ever posted becomes public from tomorrow. Even messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed. It costs nothing for a simple copy and paste, better safe than sorry. Channel 13 News talked about the change in Facebook’s privacy policy. I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, messages or posts, both past and future. With this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute). NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates. DO NOT SHARE. Copy and paste.”

Don’t be fooled …its a hoax… if you are concerned, follow the guide below on how to protect your Facebook privacy:

  1. See what your profile looks like to a stranger
    From your Facebook homepage, click your name on the blue bar on the top of the page. Click the three dots next to “View Activity Log” and then select “View As…” By default you’ll be able to see what your profile looks like to members, and can click through to sections such as photos to see what they can see. You can also select a certain friend to see what your profile looks like to them.
  2. Make all your posts private
    If you find that to your horror, hundreds of statuses and photos are public, there’s a quick way to make everything visible to just your friends. Click the drop down arrow on the right hand side of the blue bar, go to Settings and then Privacy, and then select “limit past posts”. It’s a move that’s not easily undone, so you’ll be asked to confirm that you want your posts made more private.
  3. Make yourself difficult to be found on Google and with phone numbers
    Facebook accounts can be found in all sorts of ways: They can be searched for, or if someone has your email address or phone number, they can find you – even if they don’t know your name. On the “Privacy” section of Settings you can choose to be invisible to search engines by answering “no” to “Do you want search engines outside of Facebook to link to your profile?” You can also select whether friends, friends of friends or everyone can find you with your email and phone number.
  4. Adjust what apps are showing your Facebook friends
    Many of the most popular apps now connect to your Facebook profile, meaning that your activity on those apps might be posted on your Facebook profile. But to do this, the apps have to get permission, which is where you can step in. In Settings, go to the Apps section and click “Select All” to see what permissions apps have. You may want some of these to be able to post on your behalf – Instagram for example – but you may not want your dating apps to do so, for example. Click an app to adjust privacy settings.
  5. Approve tags before they appear
    When people write on your wall or tag you in a status or photo, you might not want some people to see it. Facebook allows you to review any posts with you tagged in them before they appear on your timeline, although you’d have to report a status or photo for it to disappear. To turn approval on, go to “Timeline and Tagging” in your settings and turn “Review posts friends tag you in before they appear on your timeline” on.


Leave a Reply