How to Stop Sharing Your Location on Snapchat

The new Snapchat Snap Map is a way to see where your friends are, but it is a problem for some parents and users who don’t like that the app shares your location everytime you open Snapchat. Snap Maps shares your location whereever you are, at home, at a concert or at school or work.

This will show you how to turn it off the SnapMaps feature, or only share with specific people. Parents can check these settings to make sure kids aren’t sharing their location with too many people. The Snap Maps feature only shares your location with your Snapchat friends, but many Snapchat users are friends with random people and other users they find interesting. It’s very likely that there are people you don’t really know on your Snapchat or on your kids’ Snapchat friends lists.

In order to stop Snapchat Location Sharing,

Open Snapchat.
Pinch to Zoom, which opens the Snap Map.
Tap on the settings cog in the upper right with a location marker on it.
Switch to Ghost Mode.

In Ghost Mode, you will not share your location with anyone on Snapchat. You can look at where other people are and at areas of major Snapchat activity, but you will not share your location. For many users, the Select Friends option is a better option. This will allow you to only share your location with specific friends that you know and are OK with knowing your exact location anytime you open Snapchat.

Although it may seem stalkerish, this new Snapchat feature includes all the controls that you need to make sure your location is only shared with people you trust. The options are straightforward and easy enough to find that users and parents can make informed decisions about location sharing in Snap Maps easily.



Leave a Reply